NFL Teams – Denver Broncos

Image of the Denver Broncos logo.

The Denver Broncos are an NFL football team located in Denver, Colorado. Denver is the largest and capital city of the state.  The Broncos are owned by Pat Bowlen, whose family purchased the team in 1984. The team is currently a member of the AFC West division along with the Chargers, Chiefs, and Raiders. Their official colors are navy blue, orange and white.

Team History

From 1960-1969 the Denver Broncos were a member of the American Football League (AFL). However, in 1970 they became an official member of the NFL.  The team struggled early on but since 1975 they have been one of the most successful teams in the league. They have only six losing seasons in 40 years.

The team has appeared in the playoffs 21 times – the most recent being in 2014. The Broncos also have two Super Bowl victories which came in consecutive seasons (1997, 1998). The arrival of Peyton Manning in 2012 made them once again a Super Bowl contender. Their 2014 team broke numerous offensive records and eventually made it to the Super Bowl before losing to the eventual champion, the Seattle Seahawks.


Sports Authority Field (formerly Invesco Field) is commonly referred to as the Mile High Stadium due to Denver’s altitude. The stadium first opened in 2001 and was criticized by locals for using a corporate stadium name (Invesco). Then in 2011 a local company, Sports Authority, purchased the naming rights for the next 25 years. During game day Sports Authority Field can accommodate over 76,000 spectators – which ranks 6th in capacity among all NFL stadiums.

Image of the Denver Broncos stadium, Sports Authority Field at Mile High.


Famous Members of the Denver Broncos

The Denver Broncos are most known for their Super Bowl seasons in 1997, 1998, and for their recent success with Peyton Manning. Here are a few of their most famous team members:

  • Peyton Manning – Current Quarterback and former Quarterback of the Indianapolis Colts.
  • John Elway – Hall of Fame Quarterback and current General Manager of the team. The team won it’s only two Super Bowl’s with Elway at Quarterback.
  • Shannon Sharpe – Hall of Fame Tight End and Super Bowl champion. 199
  • Tom Jackson – former Linebacker and current ESPN personality.
  • Terrell Davis – former Running Back during the team’s 2 Super Bowl victories. One of only 7 players in NFL history to rush for 2000 yards in a single season.
  • Mike Shanahan – Super Bowl winning coach who later went on to coach the Washington Redskins.

Denver Broncos Team Merchandise

Share This:

Collins Flags

We offer a variety of U.S. flags and poles to suit most every need. We proudly buy our U.S. flags only from American manufacturers who meet or exceed our demand for high-quality construction. Click for to see our large selection of U.S. Flags.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *